My Wedding Outfits

Outfits

Wedding is truly a dream when you find the right person. The wedding Rituals/Customs in India are so diverse that every community has their own set of Procedures and events that usually is followed for the Bride and Groom to enter the wedlock. Me being a South Indian, the main Wedding rituals spawned over 2 days with three main events being ‘Varapooje‘ where the Bride’s family welcomes the Groom’s family and they warm up to each other, ‘Muhurtham‘ where the wedding ceremony is performed and last being the ‘Reception‘ where the guests get to greet the newly weds and wish them luck. Here are my looksthat I decided to flaunt on my Big Day(s).

Varapooje

I chose to wear a ‘Lehenga Saree’ for this event. The skirt and blouse is custom made from a local designer boutique in Bengaluru, the fabric used was Raw silk. I wore the Skirt with a Cancan under-skirt to add volume and structure to the whole outfit. The Checkered saree that I draped over it belonged to my mother, which made it all the more complete and special. I did the makeup and hair by myself for the event as I wanted to keep it simple, elegant and low key.

Skirt and blouse – @vistaarcustomcollection on IG
ADIL0455
Jewelry – On hire from Sri Bhavani Kangan, Jayanagar

The Muhurtham

Traditionally I had to wear an off-white Saree and throw on another Saree over my shoulders for the Mahurtham look. I always envisioned myself to be a White and Red bride and I really had some struggle finding THE Saree for my D Day. After endlessly going through several options and as the pile of rejected Sarees’ grew, I finally settled for a beautiful traditional off-white soft silk Saree with Gold thread work all over and a deep Red Saree (Yellow and Red but I chose to use the Red Pallu part) to go with it. This hands down is my most favorite look from the wedding ‘cuz it is just is way too special and nevertheless to say has One Hundred emotions attached to it.

ADIL1245.jpg

White and Red Saree – Varamahalakshmi Silks, Malleshwaram . Red Saree – A limited edition exclusive saree from @WeaveMaya on FB.

ADIL1256.jpg

Jewelry – On hire from Sri Bhavani Kangan, Jayanagar , Photography – @Focusphotographyservice on IG and FB.

ADIL1203.jpg

Makeup and Hair : @Makeupbyyashy on IG

Reception

I have a great inclination towards structured Lehengas’ that scream royalty. I always knew I wanted a heavy Lehenga as one of my wedding outfits. I chose to wear a rusty deep Maroon lehenga with a great eye for detail and design for the reception look. I must say I did end up feeling regal with multiple layers of cancan underneath the Lehenga Skirt that made it fit for a maharani (Yes, Bollywood has spoiled things for me this way and yes I am a huge Sabyasachi fan so no surprises in my choice there).

ADIL3063.jpg

Jewelry – On hire from Sri Bhavani Kangan, Jayanagar

ADIL3046.jpg

Lehenga : Badhshah, Commercial Street Bengaluru

ADIL3050.jpg

Hair and Makeup – @Makeupbyyashy on IG

These were the outfits that I wore on the 3 major events during my wedding , I did have 2 outfit changes between this and all I can surely say is that it has been one roller-coaster of a ride and I have had a mix of Bridezilla and Chill Bride moments.

2 thoughts on “My Wedding Outfits

  1. Awesome selection of outfits and Ka you made a beautiful gorgeous Bride. I enjoyed the wedding as much as i enjoyed waiting to see you in all your finery, so carefully curated and assembled. You would make a great stylist and other to be brides would revel in your selections / Suggestions for them.

    Like

Leave a comment